The Ropewalk Museum pays tribute to the history of the rope making factory, Hall’s Barton Ropery, which opened in 1767 and its workers. The Museum is an ever-growing archive of artefacts, literature and photographs that document Hall’s Barton Ropery from its origins set in the eighteenth century through to its final conclusion as a ropery business in 1989.
Hall’s Barton Ropery exported its ropes throughout the world and played an integral part in both the First and Second World War efforts, specifically supplying the United Kingdom and United States of America naval fleets with important ropes and shipping warps. The Ropewalk Museum presents a wonderful insight into the life and conditions of the Ropery workers and their families, and what it was really like to be a part of an industry that has served to become central to Barton upon Humber’s rich heritage.
The Ropewalk Museum is part of The Ropewalk arts centre which is housed in the Grade II-listed building which stretches a quarter of a mile along the length of Barton Haven. Now an Accredited Museum it contains displays, artefacts and other memorabilia associated with the history of the factory and its workforce.
The Museum’s opening hours are:
Monday – Saturday: 10.00am – 5.00pm
Sunday/Bank Holiday: 10.00am – 4.00pm
Ropewalk Museum, Maltkiln Road, Barton upon Humber, DN18 5JT
Address: Ropewalk Museum, Maltkiln Road, Barton upon Humber, DN18 5JT
Telephone: 01652 660380
Hidden History tells of Barton upon Humber's fascinating history through a collection of media including original and authentic photographs, video clips, narration and text.
DOWNLOAD THE APP