Barton upon Humber Tourism

Heritage Attractions

This rural market town has a wealth of heritage attractions. From the street scene of the historic core to St. Peter’s Church, a building of national significance, there are important examples of built heritage through the ages. Volunteer-run museums offer a warm welcome and a fascinating insight into one of the most documented towns in the country.

Why not start with a self guided walk using the free town walks produced by Barton Civic Society which are available from public buildings throughout the town or in the download section of this website. Alternatively drop into one of the venues detailed below where local volunteers will be happy to advise you of what not to miss and their personal favourites.


 

IMG_4330

 

51 Fleetgate

51 Fleetgate, Barton upon Humber, DN18

This Grade II* listed building is thought to be the oldest residential house in North Lincolnshire.  The front section is part of what was a single house incorporating 47, 49, and 51 Fleetgate, possibly dating from 1325.  A major extension was started around 1425 when a large oak-framed hall was built on the rear of the north and which is now number 51.

The house was open from the floor to the crown post roof which was originally thatched. There would have been an open fire in the middle of the floor, with smoke escaping through louvers in the thatch.  During the 17th century the chimney stack was added.

The property was later split into three houses and number 51 was bought by the Clipson family and opened as a barber shop and tobacconist in 1908.  The Clipson family did not alter the interior, which remains much the same today as it would have done in 1900.


Baysgarth House Baysgarth House

Baysgarth House Museum

Baysgarth House Museum, Baysgarth Park, Caistor Road, Barton upon Humber, DN18 6AH
Telephone: 01652 637568

Set in more than 30 acres of parkland, Baysgarth House, a Grade II* listed building, was an ancestral home of the Nelthorpe family between 1620 and 1792 when it was sold to William Graburn after which it passed through a succession of owners until it was bought in 1889 by barrister Robert Wright Taylor whose father, also Robert, lived at New Hall on Newport.

Robert Wright Taylor’s son, Stanbury, was killed at Ypres in September 1917 and a memorial to him is fixed on the main gate of the park.  In 1930, following Robert Wright Taylor’s death his daughter donated both Baysgarth House and its park to Barton upon Humber Urban District Council for use by the community. The house and park have remained in public ownership since that time

In 2004 the town’s Community, Heritage Arts and Media Project (Champ) Ltd took over the management of the house including its buildings, museum, collections, and archives. Staffed mainly by a team of dedicated volunteers, Baysgarth House Museum celebrates the lives of local people through permanent and temporary exhibitions and projects.

The Museum’a new opening hours are:

Nov – Feb  Saturday and Sunday 12 noon – 4pm

Mar – Oct Thursday to Sunday 12 noon – 4pm

www.champltd.org


Ropewalk Museum Ropewalk Museum

Ropewalk Museum

Ropewalk Museum, Maltkiln Road, Barton upon Humber, DN18 5JT
Telephone: 01652 660380

The Ropewalk Museum pays tribute to the history of the rope making factory, Hall’s Barton Ropery, which opened in 1767 and its workers. The Museum is an ever growing archive of artefacts, literature and photographs that document Hall’s Barton Ropery from its origins set in the eighteenth century through to its final conclusion as a ropery business in 1989

Hall’s Barton Ropery exported its ropes throughout the world and played an integral part in both the First and Second World War efforts, specifically supplying the United Kingdom and United States of America naval fleets with important ropes and shipping warps. The Ropewalk Museum presents a wonderful insight into the life and conditions of the Ropery workers and their families and what it was really like to be a part of an industry that has served to become central to Barton upon Humber’s rich heritage.

The Ropewalk Museum is part of The Ropewalk arts centre which is housed in the Grade II listed building which stretches a quarter of a mile along the length of Barton Haven. Now an Accredited Museum it contains displays, artefacts and other memorabilia associated with the history of the factory and its workforce.

www.the-ropewalk.co.uk


Wilderspin School Museum Wilderspin School Museum

Wilderspin National School

Queen Street, Barton-upon-Humber
DN18 5QP
Telephone: 01652 635172

The Wilderspin National School was built in 1844 and was championed by the educational pioneer and teacher Samuel Wilderspin who designed, equipped and taught in the school.

It has been identified by English Heritage as ‘One of the most important schools in England’, firstly for its unique links with the leading educational pioneer Samuel Wilderspin, and secondly for its importance as a design for other Victorian schools and a model example of an enlightened form of schooling that spread throughout the world.

This is the only place in the world where a Wilderspin school building and playground survive, making it a place of national and international importance.

The school closed in 1978 and fell into disrepair. Restoration of the School was completed in 2009 and now stands as a celebration of the life and work of Wilderspin for the benefit of the people of Barton upon Humber, North Lincolnshire and elsewhere.

The school is a family-friendly museum that welcomes visitors of all ages to experience a slice school life in a bygone age. Located in Queen Street, the School Museum offers, through role-play, hands-on exhibits and talks, an authentic and memorable experience of teaching in the 19th and 20th centuries.

www.wilderspinschool.org.uk


St Marys Church St Marys Church

St Mary’s Church

Burgate, Barton upon Humber, DN18

Barton is now unique in the region, having two magnificent churches in the one parish.  St Mary’s Church was originally built as a chapel-of-ease to St Peter’s Church and the Norman Chapel was began by Gilbert de Gaunt and finished by his son Walter. Described as the Chapel of All Saints it was again altered in 1248 with the removal of the nave altar and it was re-dedicated in honour of the Blessed Virgin Mary.

Before the end of the Middle Ages a churchyard had been enclosed and during the 12th and 13th centuries aisles were added, and the west tower was built. More building work continued during the 14th and 15th centuries resulting in it being along the same scale as its neighbour, St Peter’s.

St Mary’s has very little stained glass. The east window does contain a composite panel of fragments of mediaeval glass and was built around 1300, and was altered when the clerestory was built. It was then restored in 2001. The current organ in St Mary’s was built in 1898 and was moved from St Peter’s church in 1973. St Mary’s church has eight bells. Four of these were cast in 1946, the other four are 17th century.

Access to Saint Mary’s is usually available on most days, as it is a Cascade church in the Lincolnshire Church Tourism Cascade. You can visit it and adjacent churches in the area as part of the Northern Lincolnshire Church Trails scheme. Provision has been made for level access for wheelchairs, baby carriers, Zimmer frames, and spaces are available in the body of the church for wheelchair-using worshippers. An amplifying loop is used at services to facilitate those using hearing aids.
www.stmarysbarton.org.uk/


St Peters Church St Peters Church

St. Peter’s Church

Beck Hill, Barton upon Humber, DN18 5EX
Telephone: 01652 632516

Located on Beck Hill, St Peter’s Church is an archaeological and architectural treasure trove and is home to more than 2800 burials from Anglo-Saxon to Victorian times. The tower in particular is a beautiful example of late Saxon work, and the church must rank among the finest examples of Anglo-Norman architecture in England.

The former parish church at Barton-upon-Humber Sat Peter’s was declared redundant in 1972 and taken into public guardianship in 1978 by the then Department of Environment. Given that it had long been recognised that it had a late Saxon origin, a major programme of excavation and survey was instituted. This explored the church and its churchyard, and ran from 1978 to 1984 under the direction of Professor Warwick Rodwell. The programme meant St Peter’s became the most intensively studied and recorded parish church in the country. It also produced the largest collection of human remains ever excavated in the UK. The latter provide a unique insight into the population of a small, relatively isolated, market town over 900 years.

Visit the interactive exhibition Buried Lives and discover everything needed to know about medieval disease and diet, and the medical and burial practices discovered here.
The Church is open on Saturdays, Sundays and Bank Holidays from 10am until 3pm until September 30 2015. Closed for the winter please check http://www.english-heritage.org.uk/visit/places/st-peters-church-barton-upon-humber/ for 2016 opening times.

http://www.english-heritage.org.uk/visit/places/st-peters-church-barton-upon-humber/


Holy Trinity Church Holy Trinity Church

Trinity Methodist Church

Holydyke Barton upon Humber DN18 5PJ
There are records of a Wesleyan Society in Barton upon Humber sating back to 1760 when they were meeting at a house on King Street. In 1788 land was purchased in Cottage Lane and a building erected. As the Society grew, the need for larger premises was identified. Land was purchased and a Chapel built on the present site. This was opened for divine services on the 9th October 1816. The Cottage Lane building was retained and used as a school until 1825.

When the Chapel was opened in 1816 the Society Register showed only forty-six members. By 1839 the number has increased to two hundred, with an additional seven hundred “hearers” and the Chapel has to be enlarged. Two years later more land was purchased with vestries, Sunday school rooms and classrooms being built. A new organ was installed in 1841 and in 1846 the chapel was registered for solemnizing marriages.

In late 1859 the Trustees considered the need for further enlargement of the building and decided that a rebuild was the only option. On the 22nd May 1860 demolition was complete, and the foundation stones were formally laid for the new building. Dive months later the Chapel was ready. The official opening, marked by the delivery of sermons by popular preachers, was held during the first few days of 1861.

Further significant demolition and building work occurred in 1905 when the lecture hall and other rooms were built, and the premises took their present form. These rooms are now widely used by various group, both local and from farther afield, and are significant resource for our community.


Barton upon Humber Civic Society Walks

These walks, compiled by the Civic Society, are designed to focus on one particular part of the town or surrounding area, and each take approximately one hour to complete They are available at various outlets throughout the town and also as downloads from downloads section of this website or from the Civic Society’s website
www.bartoncivicsociety.co.uk


Thornton Abbey Thornton Abbey

Thornton Abbey

Thornton Curtis DN39 6TU
Telephone: 01469 541445

Thornton Abbey, a short distance from Barton, was one of the richest Augustinian monastic houses in Britain, and its outstanding architecture was matched by an equally impressive designed landscape. This setting was the backdrop for historically important events during and after the life of the medieval abbey.

Its enormous and ornate fortified gatehouse is the largest and amongst the finest in England

Founded in 1140, it was one of Britain’s richest Augustinian abbeys by the late 13th century. It has the largest and most impressive surviving monastic gatehouse in Britain, built between 1377 and 1382. It was one of the few abbeys to be re-founded after the Suppression of the Monasteries as a secular college for priests, but this in turn was closed in 1547. Sir Vincent Skinner later demolished most of the medieval buildings and erected an impressive house in about 1607, but this was dramatically lost within five years. After 1816 successive Lords Yarborough worked to protect, research and display the site.

Be aware that livestock is likely to be present on both the site and access path.

Please check website for details of opening times etc

http://www.english-heritage.org.uk/visit/places/thornton-abbey-and-gatehouse/


IMG_0111

Assembly Rooms

Queen Street, Barton-upon-Humber
DN18 5QP

The Assembly Rooms was built in 1843 as the Temperance Hall at a cost of £700. The two-storied, red brick building was built in a classical style with a symmetrical five bayed front which has a central pilastered Doric doorway.

The upper lecture hall, now the main public hall, could seat 400 people and was used for public meetings, public inquiries, county court meetings, concerts and exhibitions.
In 1903 it closed as a Temperance Hall and between 1906 and 1967 it was the Anglican Church Hall and the main public hall in the town and became known as the Assembly Rooms. In 1974 it was converted into a night club which ran for only a short time before Glanford Borough Council acquired the building in 1976 and for many years operated it as the town’s civic hall.

More recently it was taken over by the local Town Council and latterly it is now under the auspices of the town’s Community, Heritage Arts and Media Project. It is now an important amenity in the town available for public and private meetings and is available for use by local community groups as well as weddings, christenings, birthdays, music and comedy nights.

Contact Details

Tourist Information
Telephone: 01652 631500

Barton Town Council
Telephone: 01652 633598

Barton-upon-Humber Tourism Partnership
Telephone: 01652 660380

Email: btp@the-ropewalk.co.uk